No announcement yet.

2018 Nobel Prize in Chemistry

  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • 2018 Nobel Prize in Chemistry

    The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has decided to award the Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2018 with one half to Frances H. Arnold (USA) and the other half jointly to George P. Smith (USA) and Sir Gregory P. Winter (UK).

    This year’s Chemistry Laureates have taken control of evolution and used the same principles – genetic change and selection – to develop proteins that solve humankind’s chemical problems.

    The methods that the 2018
    Nobel Prize laureates have developed are now being internationally developed to promote a greener chemicals industry, produce new materials, manufacture sustainable biofuels, mitigate disease and save lives.

    Nobel laureate Frances Arnold, awarded the 2018
    Nobel Prize, conducted the first directed evolution of enzymes, which are proteins that catalyse chemical reactions. Enzymes produced through directed evolution are used to manufacture everything from biofuels to pharmaceuticals.

    Nobel laureate George Smith developed a method known as phage display, where a bacteriophage – a virus that infects bacteria – can be used to evolve new proteins.

    Sir Gregory Winter, awarded the Nobel Prize in Chemistry, has used phage display to produce new pharmaceuticals. Today phage display has produced antibodies that can neutralise toxins, counteract autoimmune diseases and cure metastatic cancer.
    Source: Nobel twitter