Trump doubles down: 'Trade wars are good, and easy to win'

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Trump doubles down: 'Trade wars are good, and easy to win'

It seems That The Trump.. Threw the First Stone.

https://www.cnbc.com/2018/03/02/trum...sy-to-win.html
    Last edited by Scarren; 02-03-2018, 06:39 AM.

Yep. We had a big Alcoa plant shut down a smelter and lay off 800 people about a year ago. Could not compete with cheap, subsidized imported aluminum. I think Trump has a point, all of our trade deals have been pretty one sided and not in the favor of the US. I'm not an expert on trade, but I hope we don't get into a full scale trade war. I think there are carve outs for some countries but I'm not sure.

Comment

Originally posted by Scarren View Post
      It seems That the Trump Threw the First Stone.

https://www.cnbc.com/2018/03/02/trum...sy-to-win.html
      ************************************************** ************************************************** ************************************

Steel Stocks Whipsawed as Tariffs Are On, Then Off and Then On

https://www.bloombergquint.com/busin...an-trade-steel

Then at mid-afternoon came the announcement from Trump that he plans to slap a 25 percent tariff on steel imports and 10 percent on aluminum, sending the market into a frenzy, launching the stocks to session high and sending the rest of the market plummeting. Now the market will look for more details on the policy and how the administration is going to implement it. Trump said he will sign the order sometime next week ..

Making America Great Again!

Comment

Well according to common sense, prices on everything made from steel should rise, which will reduce demand, and retaliatory tariffs should appear. Last time this went around it led to a net loss of 200000 jobs due to higher steel prices. EU threatened under bush that it would tariff in particular goods from Florida, which got bush to back out of them.