The best way to fry eggs and other impossible cooking challenges

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• The best way to fry eggs and other impossible cooking challenges

I've been studying how to properly fry eggs for the last 30 years- I have practiced thousands of times and I barely do it well. Restaurants constantly flub this task. My own dear Mother, who was a country cook, gave it up entirely, choosing to always present eggs as a "country scramble" where she would dump the eggs (less shell- mostly - of course) and scramble them in the pan. thus equally cooking the yolks and whites. "Here ya go, sweetie- and here's some ketchup to warsh it down with."
    But, to get properly cooked, un-burnt, un-laced, undamaged, fried eggs, without raw yolks, raw whites, tender, but done whites, with creamy, tasty, appetizing yolks- Ah- now, that is an art that seems to elude most people, not to mention, most cooks.

So- how do you cook your eggs? What are your secrets? Is it any small mystery why professional French Chef's hats have 100 pleats- one for each way the chef knew how to prepare an egg! While American Chef's hats have only 30?